DON’T READ THIS if you love answering job ads

MGR Accounting Recruiters in
on Jun 7, 2014. Posted inBlogging In Balance

A couple years ago I became aware of a targeted approach that helps job seekers that are frustrated with their search find the right job.  It is outlined in just a few pages of the book 48 Days to the Work You Love“48 Days To The Work You Love” by Dan Miller.  During the same period I participated in a seminar program where we teach this process to people that are frustrated by pursuing job ads as their only form of leads.  If that describes you, perhaps this will help.

As paraphrased from the book…

  1. Start by making a list of 30+ target companies.  These should be places that would hire someone in your career field and where you may like to work.  Research will be necessary.
  2. Determine who you would report to if hired.  In other words, if you are a Staff Accountant, who is the Accounting Manager?  If you are an HR Generalist, who is the HR Director?  Gather these names for each of the companies.  Names, not just titles.
  3. Write a brief letter to each of these people.  Introduce yourself, mention the type of work you are looking for, and that you will be following up with your resume in a few days.  Do not send your resume yet though.  This is simply the introduction.
  4. A few days later send your resume as you promised, but with a separate cover letter mentioning your previous note and that you will be following up with them in 1 week to see if you could speak to them regarding your search and the marketplace in general.
  5. Now, call them as you said you would.  If you get voicemail, leave a message.  phone and paper - MGR Accounting RecruitersThey will be expecting it.  Will everyone call back?  Of course not.  However, you will stand out versus other job seekers that simply replied to a job listing.  And, you are more likely to actually get to speak with someone instead of just getting an emailed response.
  6. When you speak with them, ask for help.  There may not be an opening in their department, but what about other departments?  How about other companies?  What about through other contacts?  There are many directions that you can take this conversation.  Above all be professional and gracious, and see what happens.

One of the most frustrating things about a job search is the lack of control you feel while waiting for someone to call you.  By following this process, you take back some of that control and will feel more in-charge of your own destiny.

I wish you the best with your search.

(Note: The author of this blog has no connection to the author of the book.)